On Monday, April 16, Volunteer Mississippi and First Lady Deborah Bryant honored several Mississippi residents and organizations for their outstanding volunteer service during the 2018 Governors’ Initiative for Volunteer Excellence (GIVE) Awards. The GIVE Awards celebrate the exemplary work of Mississippi’s most dedicated citizens. This distinguished group was honored at a private ceremony at the Mississippi Museum of Art.

[Click Here for Photos]

The 2018 GIVE Awards recipients are:

Mary Louise Shaw, Jackson
The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service

Annabelle Bunch, Saltillo
Outstanding Advocacy by a Youth

CREATE Foundation, Toyota Wellspring Fund, Tupelo
Outstanding Achievement by a Community Partnership

Richard D. deShazo, MD, Jackson
Outstanding Achievement in Health Advocacy

Delta Hands for Hope Youth Leaders, Shaw
Outstanding Volunteer Leadership by a Youth Group

Jaby Denton, Marks
Outstanding Service in Community Revitalization

Ryan E. Jarratt, Vicksburg
Outstanding Youth Leadership

Betty Lou Jones, Meridian
Outstanding Servant Leadership

Mississippi Department of Archives and History Volunteers, Jackson
Outstanding Volunteer Achievement in Promoting Public History

David Schommer, Madison
Outstanding Service in the Arts and Humanities

Denise Dimes Toles, Gulfport
Outstanding Service by a National Service Participant

Susan C. Tomlinson, Starkville
Outstanding Humanitarian Service

“Mississippi’s legacy in volunteerism runs deep”, said Monica Ritchie, Executive Director for Volunteer Mississippi.  “We are honored and privileged to recognize and honor 12 outstanding individuals and institutions representing volunteer excellence for the state of Mississippi.”

The GIVE Awards were established through the Office of the Governor and Volunteer Mississippi to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made an outstanding impact through their gifts of service, advocacy, and outreach on behalf of the citizens of Mississippi. 

Nominations are made by the general public and a group of industry peers serve as judges to review the submitted information and to determine the recipients.  Nomination information is sent out by Volunteer Mississippi in January of each year.