180 people filled the Mississippi Museum of Art’s Trustmark Grand Hall on April 16, 2018 to celebrate the outstanding volunteer service given by 12 individuals and organizations.

Out of more than 80 statewide nominations, 9 individuals and 3 organizations were chosen to receive the state’s premier award for excellence in service, advocacy, and outreach on behalf of the people of Mississippi.

Award recipients from the Northeast, Delta, Gulf Coast, East, and Central regions of the state were presented their awards by First Lady Deborah Bryant during the special luncheon ceremony emceed by Marshall Ramsey.

Awards were presented for Youth Advocacy and Leadership, Health Advocacy, the Arts and Humanities, Community Revitalization, Servant Leadership, Humanitarian Service, and National Service.

The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service was presented to Mary Louise Shaw for her many years of service to Habitat for Humanity and several other Mississippi organizations.

“Mississippi’s legacy in volunteerism runs deep”, said Monica Ritchie, Executive Director for Volunteer Mississippi.  “We are honored and privileged to recognize and honor 12 outstanding individuals and institutions representing volunteer excellence for the state of Mississippi.”

The GIVE Awards were established through the Office of the Governor and Volunteer Mississippi to recognize those individuals and organizations that have made an outstanding impact through their gifts of service, advocacy, and outreach on behalf of the citizens of Mississippi. 

[Click Here for Photos]

The 2018 GIVE Awards recipients are:

Mary Louise Shaw, Jackson
The Marsha Meeks Kelly Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteer Service

Annabelle Bunch, Saltillo
Outstanding Advocacy by a Youth

CREATE Foundation, Toyota Wellspring Fund, Tupelo
Outstanding Achievement by a Community Partnership

Richard D. deShazo, MD, Jackson
Outstanding Achievement in Health Advocacy

Delta Hands for Hope Youth Leaders, Shaw
Outstanding Volunteer Leadership by a Youth Group

Jaby Denton, Marks
Outstanding Service in Community Revitalization

Ryan E. Jarratt, Vicksburg
Outstanding Youth Leadership

Betty Lou Jones, Meridian
Outstanding Servant Leadership

Mississippi Department of Archives and History Volunteers, Jackson
Outstanding Volunteer Achievement in Promoting Public History

David Schommer, Madison
Outstanding Service in the Arts and Humanities

Denise Dimes Toles, Gulfport
Outstanding Service by a National Service Participant

Susan C. Tomlinson, Starkville
Outstanding Humanitarian Service